Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in North Carolina

I received a Magistrate Summons from my landlord for $4000, and eviction. I knew my wife & I were behind, but my wife supposedly made arrangement with landlord to do work for her, to help with paying rent that way. I was not included in anything going on between my wife and the landlord. When I asked my landlord about all this, as it took me by surprise, I was told "Communicate with your wife". Doesn't the landlord need to notify both parties before eviction proceeding start as to why?

Asked on 6/11/13, 5:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This depends on the lease, but typically no. If you are behind on rent as you indicated, the landlord can file for eviction without notice, if the lease has a clause that indicates this.

Read more
Answered on 6/12/13, 4:42 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now