Legal Question in Real Estate Law in North Carolina

In the state of North Carolina, if an apartment building undergoes foreclosure, who is responsible for returning the deposit to the tenant when he/she moves out: the new landlord or the old one? Also, if it is the new landlord, is he/she responsible even if the bank did not transfer the deposit money to him/her?

Asked on 6/25/13, 3:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The old landlord is responsible for the deposit. Unfortunately, practically speaking if he/she just faced foreclosure, it is possible that your security deposit is gone.

Read more
Answered on 6/25/13, 3:30 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now