Oregon  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
9/22/09, 6:02 pm

Legal Question


In Oregon, can an unlicensed contractor sue the homeowner for payment?

We made a verbal agreement with an acquaintance (to do some work on our home, specifically replacing some skylights and doing the associated roofing, etc. We paid for the materials ourselves and were only going to pay him about $1000 in labor. Before the job was done we paid him $500 in cash. My husband ending up firing him before the job was done due to very substandard work and poor work habits. Turns out he is an unlicensed contractor that has been disciplined by the contractors board for doing contractors work without a license.

We know we made a lot of mistakes (not checking his license, not having a written contract and paying in cash), but figured we'd eat the money we were out and put it behind us. We have hired a licensed contractor to totally re-do everything that was done. But turns out the first guy is suing us in small claims court for what he thinks he is owed. We are going to ask the judge to throw it out due to him not being licensed. Is that correct? Is there any other advice you have for us? We certainly will always check the license in the future!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search