Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Pennsylvania

Partial Payment of Debt

If someone owes me $300 and I allow them to pay me $200 and agree to cancel the $100 debt. Later i decide that i want the $100. Can i take them to court to collect it?

Asked on 1/10/07, 10:00 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Johns Mark Johns, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Partial Payment of Debt

No. By agreeing to accept less you created a new contract that was completed.

Read more
Answered on 1/10/07, 12:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now