Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/30/03, 9:46 pm

Legal Question


Statute of Limitations on burglary/breaking and entering/fleeing jurisdiction

Person in question broke into a non-profit hospital in the philly area (but he was an employee at the time) and stole a newly purchased computer monitor used to do the daily business of one of the hospital departments, then proceeded to break out through a window with the stolen item. I am not sure if the police were called, but security was notified and this person was questioned (as he showed up for work the following day, he worked in the same department as where he stole the monitor from)---he lied to them. A month after the theft (this happened in 1998), he relocated to another state and has not resided in PA since 1998. What is the statute of limitations on this case, and does leaving the jurisdiction halt the statute of limitations? Can the case still be prosecuted?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search