Pennsylvania  |  Tax Law

question bubble
1/08/07, 11:16 pm

Legal Question


paying back taxes

Hello,

I have a question. I have not worked or filed a tax return for the past 6 years. While I have not had any wages to report to the IRS, I've had dividends and capital gains distributions from mutual funds of between 4-8 thousand dollars per year (taxable accounts....not retirement accts). I now want to pay what I owe and file whatever paperwork is necessary. I have never been in this situation before so I don’t know how to approach it. Is it desirable to contact a business that handles settling cases like mine? Can I deal with the IRS directly? Is there a drawback to doing that? Since I live in Philadelphia, PA, I also have to settle with the state and the city. Please keep that in mind. Thanks in advance, for whatever help you can give me.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search