Pennsylvania | Traffic Law
Legal Question
theft of services
can theft of services be applied to the use of a parking permit printed out from online? i attend a university, and a parking permit was pictured on the same page as a map of campus, which i printed out and hung in the windshield of a vehicle parked in a lot outside my residence hall. the police found the vehicle and claimed that it was considered theft of services, instead of a regular parking violation, because i was using the permit from online. the lot where i was parked in regularly has vehicles parked in it without permits, and i didn't think it would be a problem to park there for an hour or two, at which point i would have moved it. the other cars parked in the lot were not ticketed, but now i am facing theft of services charges against me because of this permit being in the windshield. my question is, can the theft of services charge stick? if so, how much is the fine for theft of services, and is there anything i can do to lessen it?


