I have a family member that was pulled over and had possession of an OZ of pot. The cops let them go and now 3 months later it says on her record that she is charged with possession and intent to resell. She has never received a court date. What should her recourse be?
1 Answer from Attorneys
On what "record" does it say that she was charged?
It is possible that she was released, but the officers waited for the laboratory test for the official weight and substance determination, then presented the case directly to the grand jury for a sealed indictment or swore out a warrant.
I would suggest that she call the criminal warrants section of the local sheriff's office, or call the office of the District Attorney to learn if there is an arrest warrant outstanding for her.
Related Questions & Answers
Hello,please help me. My daughter was arrested today charged with violation of... Asked 9/26/13, 5:15 pm in United States Tennessee Criminal Law
I am 21 and this girl I am talking to is 17 I live in MS and she lives in TN is it... Asked 9/16/13, 1:19 pm in United States Tennessee Criminal Law
I received an answer from Atty.Charles Bloodworth. He said a judge will not consider... Asked 9/05/13, 6:43 am in United States Tennessee Criminal Law
In TN, if a person is given a citation for theft under $500 and has a previous theft... Asked 9/04/13, 9:32 pm in United States Tennessee Criminal Law
I was at a casino this past weekend and I met some people, we all got very drunk and... Asked 8/26/13, 2:04 pm in United States Tennessee Criminal Law