Legal Question in Business Law in Texas

I signed up for a year membership at a Crossfit gym and 4 months into my contract they decided to move locations. The new location is not convenient for me and I requested a refund of my remaining membership. The owner said "there are no refunds" but offered to extend my membership for free in hopes "my situation may change in the future" (whatever that means).

I would like to know if I have legal grounds to sue in order to get my remaining money back. It seems unfair to move the gym and expect the new location to work for everyone.

Asked on 9/04/13, 9:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Look to your written contract. Many have clauses about moving - whether you or them - and the distance that you must travel before you are entitled to a refund.

Read more
9/07/13, 1:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now