Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

I have an 18 year old son that is still in high school ( he graduates next month). He is dating an 18 year old girl that also graduates next month. To by best attempt I have tries to encourhe them not to have sex but they will do what young adults will do. I had heard in years past that Texas laws had changed in respect to statutory rape and high school graduation. Do you have any insight to this? Is my son committing a crime?

Asked on 5/16/10, 8:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Tuthill Law Office of Robert H. Tuthill
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. Age of consent in Texas is 17. They can each have consensual sex with almost anyone they wish.

Read more
Answered on 5/21/10, 8:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now