My fiance was charged with Assault Family Violence Bodily Injury First Offense. I tried to drop charges to be told I couldn't. They placed him on probation and violated him and he is in jail. What can I do?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Nothing. Once he pled guilty, the only issue for a probation violation is whether or not he violated probation - not whether or not he was guilty of the assault. He needs a good lawyer. If he was charged as a first offender misdemeanor, he is looking at up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. What will happen depends on the underlying facts of the case, the violation, how he did otherwise on probation, his attitude, etc.
Related Questions & Answers
My son had a another young man urinate in a bottle and poor it on him at a sleep... Asked 5/06/13, 4:45 am in United States Texas Criminal Law
I am a police officer who is married and have children. There is a woman in the town... Asked 5/05/13, 10:17 pm in United States Texas Criminal Law
I just had a quick question my brother was in a state jail and picked up this charge... Asked 5/03/13, 9:22 am in United States Texas Criminal Law
What r grounds for a change of venue my son is being accused of intoxication... Asked 5/03/13, 8:52 am in United States Texas Criminal Law
In Texas, is it a viloation of probation to be admitted into Rehab? Asked 5/03/13, 6:34 am in United States Texas Criminal Law