Legal Question in Family Law in Texas

My ex and I got divorced and he was awarded weekend visitation. Since the hearing was over he hasn't attempted to pick them up, see them in any way, or even call once. This has been over a year now. Am I still legally bound to stay in the same city as him, or can I move out of state and get on with my life since he obviously doesn't care?

Asked on 10/24/13, 9:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You will need to file to amend your custody / divorce conditions. Just because he does not exercise his right (it is not an obligation to visit) does not allow you to violate the order.

Read more
10/26/13, 8:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now