Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Employer Expectations

I was working for a small financial firm. I quit because my employer told me that I would have to be financially responsible for mistakes made in accounts that resulted in fees imposed on those accounts, including errors that were made in the course of correcting errors originally made by my boss. Basically, thousands of dollars would come out of my pocket to reimburse accounts managed by our firm. Is this legal? Do I have a case to sue my former employer for wages lost due to the fact that I did not want to continue working for the firm because I did not want my pay check to be on the line every time a transaction error occurred?

Asked on 9/19/08, 4:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Employer Expectations

if you are not paid for time spent..report to the US Department of Labor and the Texas Workforce Commission...you don't need to go to Court..

Read more
Answered on 9/19/08, 4:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now