Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Texas

I just need some advice.

I am renting my home from my parents (their name is on the lease). They've given me the rights to rent out rooms in the home in order to save up money for the down payment to buy the house from them.

I made the mistake of renting out a room to a friend of mine without drawing up a lease. She moved in, in February and has now been requested to move out. Needless to say our friendship is no longer existent. Over the last 4 months she has had her boyfriend stay at the house 4-6 days out of the week and given him a key to the house without discussing the matter with me. He has not contributed to the payment of rent and/or utilities since "living" there. I have asked her and/him to pay me an additional $75 total for the used utilities/rent for the 4 months he's been in my home. She has refused to pay me anything and has become to attempt to take my personally purchased items from my home. I am under the impression that because we don't have a lease I can have her and her boyfriend escorted out of the home for trespassing if I choose to change the locks. Is my impression correct? I so, what is to happen to anything of hers left in the house?

I just want my home back and the additional $75. Any help will be highly appreciated :)

Asked on 9/24/13, 5:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Keith Engelke Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You need to get a court order evicting them. The matter is relatively simple, however you should get an attorney to help you if this is your first time.

Read more
Answered on 9/25/13, 5:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now