Legal Question in Consumer Law in Utah

I signed up for internet service from a local provider. Within the first 48 hours of having it installed, I had two outages lasting more than a few hours each. When I tried to call their customer support line which was advertised to be available 24-7 on their website, I couldn't get in touch of anyone. Their phone system would either hang up on me, or I would get sent to a voicemail.

I immediately contacted the company via email asking for them to cancel my service and refund the first month's service I had paid for as they hadn't provided a reliable connection nor the 24-7 customer support they had advertised. They refused to issue a refund citing a 30 day cancellation notice policy in their terms of service. My argument is that they broke the terms of the contract by not providing the service I signed up for and was advertised on their website. In doing so, the terms of service were rendered invalid and a refund is owed to me.

Do I have any legal standing or am I out in left field on this one?

Asked on 9/30/13, 6:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

File a small claims action.

Read more
10/07/13, 8:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Utah

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8812 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now