Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

I live in virginia and issed a bad check in 2010. After finding out I had a warrent out for me I spoke to the pilice and the following day I paid the store. The check was for $75 and I am being charged with a misdomenor. I went to court the other day and was asked if I want a lawyer then I was issued another court date. What am I facing even though I already paid the check and have the receipt?

Asked on 4/09/13, 8:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Probably, a suspended sentence with probation upon conviction for

a violation of Virginia Code Sec. 18.2-181 (misdemeanor larceny).

Read more
Answered on 4/10/13, 3:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now