Legal Question in Banking Law in Virginia

I was unknowingly involved in a Western Union fraud scheme, and some stolen funds were transferred into my bank account. I then withdrew those funds not knowing that they did not belong to me and per the instructions of the person who transferred them, used Western Union to send money to their "business partner". The bank has said that they do not believe I was complicit in the activity and that they are not going to report me to any other banks. Am I responsible for repaying those funds. The amount was $1,000.00

Asked on 6/04/11, 1:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, very likely you are (in my opinion).

Read more
6/06/11, 8:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Banking Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now