Legal Question in Education Law in Virginia

My wife has been working on her PhD. for 5+ years and her latest committee co-chair is delaying her graduation and even threatening to pull the plug on her dissertation as a whole, blocking her from graduating this semester. Since her defense, roughly 6 weeks ago, her co-chairs have completely revised the scope and purpose of her dissertation. She revises to meet their feedback requirements and then they add something else they want in it. If she is not allowed to graduate this semester, what are our legal options for suing the co-chairs (and possibly the university) for emotional stress and to recoup tuition and cancellation fees incurred by us and other family members canceling trips to attend the ceremony in 2 weeks?

Asked on 12/01/10, 8:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your chances of suing are excellent; however, of winning such a suit, very likely,

far less favorable (in my opinion).

Read more
Answered on 12/08/10, 7:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now