Legal Question in Employment Law in Virginia

I work for the federal government. My boss tends to swear a lot. Over the past few months he has started swearing at me. During one event it was in a room full of other managers. He has threatened me recently with a bad review if I take leave that was planned 3 months ago and he has refused to approve or disapprove the leave. I have reported the behavior to his boss only to be told that the higher boss approved the threats and that he thinks I am lying. The higher has go so far to state that while my boss did swear at me it was not using the words that I stated to HR and that I would be given a written warning regarding making false accusations. I feel that this is a hostile work environment and my boss is now fee to take retribution. IS this harassment/ violence in the work place should I seek EEO or a lawyer? Thank you for any feed back you can provide me.

Asked on 4/28/13, 12:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, the kind of "harassment" and hostile work environment which you've described are not actionable under federal anti-discrimination laws as far as I am aware.

Read more
Answered on 4/29/13, 7:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now