Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

I found someone to takeover the lease at my apartment. The complex is now saying that I have to pay a $500 lease takeover fee. My lease copy does not say any fee is involved. Can the complex charge a fee that is not listed in my lease terms?

Asked on 9/13/13, 12:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

So, have you asked this complex as to where they get their legal authority for this special assessment that apparently is not covered in your lease?

Read more
9/14/13, 7:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now