Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

This past April I moved into an apartment with two roommates (they are a couple). On July 5th I told them I would have to move out. I agreed to pay July's bills, seeing as that would cover my 30 days. However, our leasing office required that all three of us, sign to release me from the year long lease. My roommates refused to sign unless I signed a paper agreeing to what THEY wanted. They made me sign agreeing to pay two additional months rent as well as utilities for August. I signed, because they refused to release me unless I did so. The conditions were unlivable for me. They were constantly smoking pot and they left the apartment a complete mess on a regular basis. Is there any way to disregard the personal contract signed between myself and the roommates, or is it binding regarldess of circumstances or duress?

Asked on 7/23/13, 6:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You could ignore it and then see what happen and if you're sued, then

raise whatever defenses that may be applicable, including that of unconscionable duress.

Read more
7/23/13, 7:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now