Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Virginia

Back in January I was in a car accident. I went to the hospital about injuries (specifically, a knee injury) and was told nothing was wrong or broken since I was capable of walking on it and told that an x-ray wasn't needed. They gave me pain medicine and told me that I might just be feeling the pain from the injury since it took place on that day. I later went back a month later for the same reason because things were not getting better, and the physical therapist that the attorney sent me to also would not do an x-ray. To make a long story short, I was eventually referred to an orthopedic doctor and found out that the pain was caused by torn meniscus. I am now scheduled to undergo surgery Friday for this problem that the orthopedic said should have been found months ago thru an MRI. I was also told by the doctor that it seems as if there could have been further damage done to my knee due to the constant pressure and strain on my knee (i.e., work and therapy 3 times a week) I was wondering if the hospital or the physical therapist could be held accountable for the lack of medical attention needed in this situation even though I asked for the screening to be done for precautionary measures on two different visits to the hospital and a request to the therapist and was refused?

Asked on 4/23/13, 8:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I would recommend that you arrange for a consultation with an attorney who handles medical malpractice matters to discuss your case.

Read more
5/06/13, 7:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now