Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in United Kingdom

Hi, my former landly only wants to pay back 115 pounds from my 600 pound deposit.I signed the contract with her on Nov 9th 2013 for three months (one month leave notice). After this period (Feb 9th), we agreed verbally for another 4 months (9th June 2014). I moved out earlier (21st May) and paid the outstanding balance until the 21st May. She wants to take the balance from the 21st May till the 9th June off my deposit (around 380 pounds) because the contract says that the full rent for a month has to be paid in advance. But this does not make sense since I moved out earlier and paid the balance until the 21st may, and since there is no written agreement she does not have the right to deduct rent from the 21st may till the 9th June from my deposit, right? Thanks for your help

Asked on 5/31/14, 9:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Fca Prashant Chavan Expert Edge LLP


Dear Sr / Madam,

Since the originally agreed period of lease was till 09th June, 2014, the Owner has the right to recover the rent for the period from the 22nd of May, 2014 till 09th June, 2014 from your Security Deposit.


Read more
Answered on 5/31/14, 10:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in United Kingdom