Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

Will try to be brief but its complicated...hired licensed contractor to replace roof. Contractor did crap job and roof leaked (never did before). Contractor denied responsibility. Had to hire independent inspector. Discovered contractor had no roofing classification but was issued roofing permit anyway. (I knew nothing of classification specialties) while attempting to get issue resolved had to fork out $600+ for independent inspection who verified work was substandard. Paid another $600+ for emergency tarp to classified roofer as initital tarp applied by original contractor weathered and rain was imminent. Filed claim w bond company, filed complaint w CSLB. CSLB ruled contractor must hire classified roofer to repair defects. This was done. Bond company stated since contractor corrected defects they have no liability. Submitted invoice to contractor for reimbursement of $1200 expenses incurred as a result of poor workmanship by non classified contractor who was issued a non verified, specialty required building permit. Contractor refuses to reimburse extra expenses incurred for inspection and tarp because of their crappy work. Was also informed interior repairs to drywall are not their responsibility. I just want my $1200 back. Retired/disabled senior being taken advantage of and cant afford an attorney. Help


Asked on 1/24/23, 5:00 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

This is a classic case for Small Claims Court. These days you can even e-file. https://www.saccourt.ca.gov/small-claims/

Read more
Answered on 1/25/23, 8:56 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California