Legal Question in Criminal Law in California

my Grandmothers housekeeper a recent ex felon talked her way into the house on a non work day and stole her jewelry. my grandmother reported it to police and had photos of the items. The police tracked down the jewelry to a store which bought and arrested the women and found another piece of jewelry during the arrest. The Jewelry store now wants 5700 from my grandmother to get it back and the police say if she wants it back that shell have to pay. My grandmother is 95 and freaking out, Help please

Asked on 8/15/15, 12:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lyle Johnson Bedi and Johnson Attorneys at Law

Contact an attorney regarding this matter. It is my recollection that when a person purchases stolen property the he does not obtain any ownership interest in the property.

Read more
Answered on 8/16/15, 8:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in California