Legal Question in Medical Leave in California

My wife and I are expecting. During this time, I will be going on Paid Family Leave (PFL) with the State of California. My Wife is currently on unemployment. My question is, if I go on PFL, will the State of California cancel my Wife's unemployment? I ask this question because, technically, she will be "unavailable" for some time. And since unemployment asks the question, "Are you able to work?", can I jeopardize her unemployment?

Asked on 7/20/11, 10:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless

Your status is irrelevant, but yes, she will will have to disclose her 'unavailability' at some point, and her benefits will be suspended until she returns to 'ready' status. Lying about it would be a perjury.

Read more
Answered on 7/20/11, 2:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in California