Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

How to distribute an estate?

A trust has all cash plus a primary house. Trust calls for equal distribution among 4 co-beneficiaries (same 4 are also co-trustees). House will not be sold. Option 1: Single beneficiary "A" takes house, and only house, no cash, as her sole share. Option 2: All beneficiaries take equal pieces of house and then cash divided equally among all 4. Neither option agreed to. Looking for other options. Any suggestions?

Asked on 7/16/20, 8:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michele Cusack Pollak & Cusack

Unless all the beneficiaries agree, it is up to the Trustee to decide whether to sell the house and distribute the net proceeds or to simply distribute the asset by deeding in equal shares to the beneficiaries.

Read more
Answered on 7/18/20, 4:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California