Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Florida

Fraud accusation after resignation.

I am being persued by a large factoring corporation for fraud accusations due to actions of the officers of my ex-corporation (where I held 1/3 shares). I had signed a personal guarantee to this factoring company in regards to invoices they were buying from us. After selling my shares and resigning from the company back in December, 05, I called the factoring company and spoke to my caseworker about rescinding my guarantee. He told me that as long as the corporate charter was updated that there would not be a problem and that he would take care of it. I'm not positive but I believe certain officers began selling fake invoices to this company. I have remained in contact with my ex-partner and he told me about the factoring problem back in June. He has since gone out of business. Today I recieved a summons that a civil lawsuit has been filed against myself and my ex-partner for fraud. Along with the summons they sent me a number of transactions as proof which dated after I had resigned and rescinded my personal guarantee.

I understand now that I should have written and mailed a certified letter rescinding mt guarantee. I guess my question I have a defense? I can't imagine the courts holding me liable.

Asked on 8/31/06, 6:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Behren Behren Law Firm

Re: Fraud accusation after resignation.

Have an attorney review the Summons and Complaint and get all of the information so it can be determined what your defenses may be.

Scott Behren

Read more
Answered on 9/02/06, 1:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Florida