Legal Question in Technology Law in Florida

Charging for competitions

I have a website that allows people to submit silly competitions like who can make the goofiest face. Currently the competitions are completely free as well as the site but I would like to have paid competitions wither via monthly fee or per competition. For example= You must pay $2 to enter this competition and the winner recieves a prize like a TV or car or something. Is this legal? I see comapnies charge you to play fantasy football which is a competition where I can win trophies and other prizes.

Asked on 12/30/08, 10:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Johm Smith tom's

Re: Charging for competitions

It all depends on the laws of your state and possibly where the other people are located. I'm licensed in FL and focus on Internet law. So call or write if you want me to help you with this.

Read more
Answered on 1/06/09, 12:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in Florida