Legal Question in Education Law in Florida

In a Florida Public School. Is it Ethical for a single high school class (American History) to Grade a student based on Attendance?

I.E. A student has 4 unexcused absences and 4 Tardy's, the student loses 2 points for each, recieving a grade of 84%. Which is then calculated into 50% of the subsequent catagory. Then applied to 20% of the overall classroom grade.

Is it not a point of interest that it is the legal responsability of the parent of the minor to insure the student attends school, dictated by the county and state?

Asked on 4/05/10, 9:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Angelo Marino Angelo Marino Jr. PA

Participation can be part of the grade.

Read more
Answered on 4/11/10, 8:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in Florida