Legal Question in Education Law in Florida

In one of my University courses, the professor gave us a monetary "assignment" without knowing the financial status of the students in the class. I informed the professor as well as the Dean of the major that I am unable to come up with the money for this "assignment" and requested another alternative that doesnt require me reaching into my pockets. The answer was no, I would eventually have to fail the course and retake it, which would end up in the same situation. When I asked what the purpose of this "assignment" was, I was told that "It would keep the students up to date with what is going on in the profession as well as post employment opportunities."

As previously noted, this is an ASSIGNMENT and not a requirement such as a book or insurance for liability purposes. I am basically paying for my grade when I have already paid for the course.

Are professors allowed to assign financial activities without offering an alternative for students who truly cannot afford to pay for it? In all actuality, the student who have the money are at an advantage from the start because they can just pay for the activity, and automatically pass the class.

Asked on 12/03/09, 1:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

It depends on what the financial assignment was. Your facts are too vague. If you are required to go and buy a mercedes to test drive, then, no -- but if you are required to buy the Financial Times, then yes.

Read more
Answered on 12/08/09, 1:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Education Law questions and answers in Florida