Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

My ex opened a family court date in 02/2020 I was never served within the 120 days required. Afterwards my husband and I hired a lawyer to terminate his parental rights and for a step parent adoption and it was granted by a judge. Afterwards my ex submitted information to serve me by publication even though I was never served within the 120 days, he actually submitted it several months later. Will a judge entertain him serving me by publication because his time sharing request was submitted first before we submitted a TPR and step parent adoption after his?

Asked on 2/22/21, 2:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

The Family Court judge may not know you have another action pending. Do not ignore his filing. The judge shouldn't grant his request but that does not mean he won't.

Read more
Answered on 2/22/21, 2:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida