Legal Question in Insurance Law in Florida

Let a friend borrow my car on 8/17. I get a call the next morning that its gone, and a guy who stopped by to visit had taken the keys and totalled it. Hit 2 other cars in the process. In my mind, this means my car was stolen, but insurance folks say since it was a person who was in the house and had access to keys that he had implied permission to drive. Told Hwy Patrol officer who worked the case it was theft and he said it would go on the report. Yesterday I get a call from him that I should have filed the theft claim with the couty sheriffs office. Still have not gotten any payment from Allstate on my car and it sounds like the 2 drivers he hit are planning to sue as this has exceeded my 50,000 polic limit.

Asked on 9/03/10, 9:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

see a lawyer. You can sue your carrier and the guy that stole the car. I would file a claim with the police as well.

Read more
Answered on 9/12/10, 10:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Florida