Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

I am 4 months pregnant, I found out and put in transfer paperwork for a new position within my company. From that moment they put off starting the transfer for which I would need two weeks training. I ended up getting bronchitis and a viral infection from a patient, so I was out a few days. When I came back I was given a final written notice about my absences. Which with the policy the company uses at the 5th incident I was supposed to receive a written warning which I never received. I was never told my absences were adding up. When I was finally put on my training they did everything possible to pull me out of training, which made it harder to learn. When I told my boss that I would rather stay in my current position she texted me and asked if I was quitting or putting in my notice. I feel as if they are trying to use the pregnancy to terminate me. What do I need to do in order to make sure I don't end up losing my chance at unemployment because they are trying to use the absences as an excuse, also they said being pregnant is NOT an excuse for being sick.

Asked on 2/16/16, 10:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Behren Behren Law Firm

Who is your employer? If you wish to help give yourself some job security, feel free to call or email me and we can discuss what options I think you have with regard to this employer. Thanks.

Read more
Answered on 2/18/16, 7:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida