Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

I hate my landlord. She denies owning the building when I know she's lying. She says it's owned by a man sailing around the world. He's been sailing the entire 5 years I've lived there and he can't talk to anyone. Now I Pau $1335 a month for a small 1 bedroom that probably hasn't been painted in 20 years at least. She does no pest control and I'm in Florida. If I get roaches she says so what get some bug spray. The apartment has no heat. She says since this is south Florida I don't need heat. But after tonight the next 3 nights it will we around 40 degrees. I told her that I need heat it's cold. She said get under a blanket. She even claimed to have no heat where she lives which is a lie I'm sure. Other than moving out is there anything that I can do?

Asked on 1/12/23, 6:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Pay your rent to the clerk of the court and seek rent reduction. You can look up ownership by the address with the property appraiser.

Read more
Answered on 1/13/23, 5:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida