Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

Is it legal for landlord to introduce a pet fee [and "pet rent" fee] two months after new lease has been signed?

Two months ago, I renewed a lease that starts next month. The lease I signed has no pet fee. On Friday I received a notice that my landlord has decided to charge a non-refundable pet fee, plus a monthly "pet rent" fee. They are requesting I pay this fee (which is substantial) and agree to pay rent for my pet before the end of this month. Aren't I covered by the agreement we both signed two months ago?

Asked on 9/12/22, 2:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

He cannot legally change the lease without your consent.

Read more
Answered on 9/12/22, 2:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida