Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

So I just moved into my boyfriend's rental home in FL. The Landlord wants me to fill out a tenant application and then a roommate addendum that my boyfriend and I both sign. I went to fill out the tenant application and they are asking for my social security number to perform a credit check. My boyfriend said it was only a background check. My worry is: What if my boyfriend is late on rent or worse case scenario, stops paying it altogether. Will my credit be affected? Also, if I decide to move out any point, will I still be legally tied to the 12 month lease until its over? Any help would be much appreciated.

Asked on 2/23/22, 9:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

Sounds like they adding you to the lease agreement. You will likely be responsible for the financial obligations. The documents themselves actually need to be reviewed to know for sure.

Read more
Answered on 2/23/22, 10:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida