Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

I live in a town house community in FL, where the units are owned and we have an HOA. I have lived in my unit for 15 years and have never had any prior issues. A new family moved in less than a year ago and within a couple months of moving in have converted their garage into a gym with not 1 but 2 Punching Bags. Our units have shared walls, which we share with our neighbors on the right and left. In his garage he has wall space that goes up against his house on the left and on the right is the wall in his garage that he shares with my home. He put these punching bags up against the side he shares with me. One punching bag is not attached to the wall and seems to have minimal impact on me, however the other is a speed bag that is attached to the wall and they literally punch it directly up against the wall they share with me, the impact is so great that it rattles my side of the wall from my entire downstairs area all of the way up to my 2nd story bedroom where it sounds like there is a washing machine on spin cycle trapped in my walls for up to an hour. I have tried talking to the neighbor and working it out with him only doing this at certain times and 6 months later they just seem content on doing it whenever they want, specifically early in the morning when I have especially asked them not to do. I can't imagine that them causing this type of unreasonable disturbance with their exercise equipment up against a shared wall to another resident is permitted, I also worry that the constant impact could possibly be weakening the structure on my side. Is there anything that can be done from a legal standpoint for this extremely inconsiderate issue?

Asked on 3/23/24, 6:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

Contact your HOA to seek their advice regarding this matter

Read more
Answered on 3/23/24, 9:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida