Legal Question in DUI Law in Georgia

I was arrested back in June 2009 for DUI-Drugs and Simple Possession of Marijuana. (Both Misdemeanors) I went to Municipal Court on it like 5 months later because the Courts kept postponing the court date. I had a paid Lawyer and the Judge decided that if I don't get in any trouble for 8 months on Unsupervised Probation, that they would drop everything to Disorderly Conduct. But, 6 months into the probation, I caught a Underage DUI-Alcohol (I'm 19) and Underage Consumption. So that was Mid-April when that happened and I sat in Jail until I went to court. They dropped the Underage Consumption and Charged me with a DUI and placed me on 12 months Supervised Probation. So, when the 8 months Unsupervised Probation was about to end, I get a letter in the mail from the Police Dept. stating "Notice of Continuance" on the previous, original charges. I go to Court on that in a few days and I have no idea what to expect. Since it was Unsupervised Probation, there's not a Probation Officer to violate me. But, I guess the Courts could do that if they felt like. So, would it be a violation of probation if I'm convicted of the DUI-Drugs and Simple Possession or would they just extend my 1st, original Unsupervised Probation? Or what could come of all these? Thanks!

Asked on 7/23/10, 8:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

There are a great deal of detailed facts missing in your post.

Call the lawyer who handled your case, and rehire him. You are at risk of jail time. You need your lawyer.

Read more
Answered on 7/24/10, 6:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Georgia