Legal Question in Family Law in Georgia

I am 17 years old, as of right now I live with my grandparents but im not happy at all. My boyfriends mom said I could live with them considering I have no where else to go. My other grandmother has too many people living with her, my dad doesn't want me, and my mother doesn't even have her own home. So I asked my grandparents if I could go live with him and they said only if my other grandmother took custody first, so I talked to her about it and she said she was okay with having custody but me living with my boyfriend. but now my grandparents are saying that that's not enough that when we go to have the papers signed I have to tell the judge that I wont actually be living with my grandmother, and they said that if I lave to g anywhere other than work they'll call the law and have me arrested. How is this going to go once we get to court? Is it really the judges business? Would this cause my grandmother not to get custody? The mental/emotional abuse is getting worse at home while we're waiting...

Asked on 6/06/16, 9:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

Yes, it is the Judge's business.

Read more
Answered on 6/06/16, 9:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Georgia