Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Georgia

I moved back in with my wife after separating for 8 months. She was going to jail and wanted her "marriage." The owner also her creepy uncle said that since I would have the kids we didn't have to pay rent until Kayla got out of jail and got a job. I was still on previous lease from when we first moved in. After my wife went to jail someone kept breaking in, I asked Larry to put lights at the back of the house because it was really dark and the dogs barked like someone was out there. I took care of my kids, house/bills, and wife for 3months while my wife was incarcerated. Two days before she got out my 3 year old told me that larry came while I was at work. I asked if he came in and she said no. mom went outside, mom got in larry car. I said they were probably talking and she said no GA-GA they were making "TROUBLE." She JUST LEARNED THAT WORD. I REFERRED IT TO THE REASON HER MOM couldn't come home. I had speculated the same thing throughout our whole relationship and I confronted them. The day my wife was released the next day she moved with her kids to her grandparents house. (Larry lives next door) he served me with an eviction for failure to pay rent. She had the lights cut off and I cant get the lights switched in my name because the meter on the house needs to be replaced and Larry said No, he wasn't accepting rent or fixing it. Cant I sue him for me having to pay to stay somewhere else, all my food going bad, time off from work, and my snake dieing because of the heat in the house?

Asked on 8/25/18, 7:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


Landlord cannot turn off utilities

File counterclaim when you answer dispossessory and ssk for damages

Read more
Answered on 8/26/18, 5:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Georgia