Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Illinois

Me and my spouse bought a bed after we moved in(me paying the majority).later down the road she started to get physical and it became a hostile living condition so I'm moving out the question is can I take the bed if I can prove more likely than not that I bought the majority of bed.I can probly even go to the store and ask the associate who sold it to me to sign a witness letter stating I was the only one present and I used my cash when making the purchase of the bed.?

Asked on 9/06/16, 8:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Betty Tsamis Tsamis Law Firm PC

If you purchased the bed while you were legally married it is part of the marital estate. Meaning, it is not yours only unless your wife agrees to that or a judge enters an order providing the bed is yours.

Read more
Answered on 9/06/16, 8:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Illinois