Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Kentucky

My child is fifteen and interested in becoming a film director. He makes home videos all the time. He never has others in the video. He does all the characters. He recently made a video parodying the recent film industries use of rape to get out a non-existing issue. There was no nudity. He had someone at school ask several times if they could view it. He brought it to school and gave it to them. They ended up turning it into the principle and we were called in and told he was suspended and they had an police officer there who then arrested him for distribution of obscene material. Now the school may not let him come back to school. He has never once been in trouble before. We understand the video material was inappropriate but the consequences seem pretty severe. What should we do?

Asked on 9/28/11, 11:17 am

2 Answer from Attorneys

Andrea Welker Welker Law Office

You should get him an attorney that practices juvenile law, criminal and education, if possible.

Read more
Answered on 10/01/11, 10:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Kentucky