Legal Question in DUI Law in Kentucky

Can a person in the State of Kentucky be convicted of a DUI for sleeping if they keys were not even in the vehicle? They have a statement from a witness that claims he was driving previous. They have a reciept from a store 3 hours prior that he purchased beer.

Asked on 10/05/14, 8:55 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jeffrey Brunk The Brunk Firm, PLLC

If the keys were not in the car, let alone the ignition, then the prosecutor will have a very difficult time proving operation which is a required element for guilt under Kentucky's DUI statute.

Read more
Answered on 10/05/14, 9:10 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Kentucky