Legal Question in Consumer Law in Massachusetts

I was selling a tv on craigslist and I had an interested party contact me. The person that contacted me wanted the tv and said they would send a check for $200 in the mail and they would have a friend with a large vehicle pick it up. A week later I got the check it was for $1500. I thought something was wrong so I contacted the person to see what happened. Then I got this weird story thru text messages that I was supposed to pay a moving company $1300 to take the $200 tv. This made no sense to me so I told the person that this is not acceptable and I would send the check back. The person kept repeating "send it to the moving company, just send it." I made out the new cashiers check and sent it back to the address it came from. At this point I thought it was over. 2 weeks later I got the check back in the mail with no longer a person at this address. So now I have this check for $1500 and I cant find the person that sent it to me. What do I do with it?

Asked on 2/18/16, 11:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonas Jacobson Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson

Put it in an account and let it earn interest and forget about it. They'll come back after it at some point.

Read more
Answered on 2/25/16, 3:57 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Massachusetts