Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

My friend had a hearing today regarding the guardianship of her 6 year old daughter. Her mother petitioned for guardianship of the minor, my friend objected. The hearing seemed extremely unfair. My friend was unrepresented (not good, I know) and her mother was very prepared and represented. During the hearing, the petitioner's attorney asked my friend to list all of her medications and the condition it's for. My friend was uncomfortable with this request and asked the judge "do I have to answer that?", which the judge replied "yes". She did as she was told, it made her look bad, she lost. My question is, is it legal for a judge to require someone to disclose sensitive medical information in a public court room? This seems like a violation of privacy.

Asked on 6/25/15, 6:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Yes, the judge can consider facts that would help to determine the outcome of the case. Another good reason for the decision is your friend's poor choice to go to court without an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 6/25/15, 6:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan