Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

My situation is that I am behind on child support, not proud of it, but I am significantly behind. As a result I was contacted by the county FOC attorney at Christmas time 2017, telling me I am behind and there will be a Show Cause Hearing for non payment. However, the county FOC attorney continued to be very clear in her written correspondence to me that as long as I pay "X" amount of dollars each month there will not be a show cause hearing scheduled for me. As a result, I gathered resources and in good faith made these payments as required and on time. While making my February payment I noticed on the MI FOC website when I was printing my form/coupon to include with my payment being sent in, I noticed there was a Show Cause Hearing scheduled for me first week of March 2018. This is completely different then what I was told in what i believed to be good faith by the FOC attorney. Why would this Show Cause be scheduled when I - in good faith followed the instructions of the FOC attorney?

I even wrote a letter to the attorney asking the same question and included a copy of the letter the FOC attorney sent me. Unfortunately, after 2 weeks I've not heard back from FOC attorney or anyone from the FOC except receive a hearinnotice in mail.

Asked on 2/23/18, 12:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

At this stage, I'd recommend hiring an experienced family law attorney to help you. Depending on the particulars of your case, sometimes these turn into criminal charges. Find somebody in Saginaw that can help you.

Read more
Answered on 2/23/18, 1:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan