Legal Question in Insurance Law in Minnesota

Golf Cart Incident

Hello, Last saturday, a friend and mine rented a golf cart. We both payed $10 which summed up the cost for the rental. We did not sign anything, and he is not at a legal age to drive the golf cart. On one of the holes, when the other guy was driving the golf cart (15years of age) the cart hit a bump and crashed. It was damaged, and they say that we need to pay for the golf cart, which totals a sum of $1,470. I do not beleive we need to because, he was never check for age, and we never signed a wavier. If there is anything else that I did not include, i am sorry and please contact me if there is anything else that is needed. also note i am 16, and there was injury to both of us, but nothing too serious.

I dont know if i should pay it or what... please help me and thank you very much.

Asked on 9/11/03, 8:13 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Re: Golf Cart Incident

Generally, anyone less than 18 is considered a minor and not capable of making a contract. I assume your state law is the same. I do no see how you are responsible for the damage.

Read more
Answered on 9/12/03, 6:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Minnesota