Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I own a coop in New York,Suffolk county.Can I transfer title to someone else if I am served with a summons for a judgement to avoid lien that would be put on coop?Or is bankruptcy a better option.I am a woman with excellent credit and no debt.This is my mothers nursing home who is sueing me because I signed her admissions agreement not realizing they would hold me responsible for the amount medicare didnt pay because she has no assets.Thank you for your help.

Asked on 10/11/11, 6:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

A late transfer would be looked upon as a fraudulent transfer to avoid creditors and could be set aside.

Read more
Answered on 10/13/11, 8:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York