Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

Do I have to pay my spouse's debts if she passes if I live in NY, an equitable distribution state?

I'm not sure if the state matters but from a legal perspective my spouse has a personal loan and credit card dept in her name only so I’m wondering if the creditors will come after her estate (me) if she were to pass. We have our house and mortgage held jointly but everything else is separate including bank accounts and retirement accounts. Thanks

Asked on 4/27/20, 7:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Her estate is responsible to pay her creditors before distribution of her assets.

Read more
Answered on 4/27/20, 7:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York